Skip to content
Leadership Banner

Who We Are

We are anchored by the Older Americans Act (OAA)

When the Older Americans Act was signed into law in 1965, it was largely considered the most significant piece of aging legislation to date. The OAA is reauthorized by Congress every few years. The 1973 reauthorization of the OAA created Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) to oversee and deliver vital home and community-based programs. Today, there are over 600 AAAs throughout the US providing OAA programs to older adults in their communities. Federal AAA oversight and allocation of OAA-authorized funds is conducted through the Administration for Community Living (ACL). Within the commonwealth, the Pennsylvania Department of Aging ( allocates ACL funding and governs the 52 AAAs that serve Pennsylvanians locally.

We are Philadelphia County’s Area Agency on Aging

Philadelphia Corporation for Aging (PCA) has been an established AAA since 1973 and serves older adults and adults with disabilities in Philadelphia County. PCA provides vital programs that allow individuals to remain engaged in their communities and empowered in their homes. PCA is a private nonprofit, funded primarily through federal and state sources including Pennsylvania lottery funding.

We are who to contact first for person-centered programs and services for older adults and adults with disabilities in Philadelphia.

PCA is the first place for older Philadelphians and adults with disabilities to turn to for information and services to help maintain or improve the quality of their lives. One of the region’s largest nonprofits, PCA collaborates with approximately 200 contracted providers on over 30 person-centered programs and services to help older Philadelphians and adults with disabilities living in Philadelphia. In cooperation with aging advocates and AAA associations at the state and national levels, including Pennsylvania Association of Area Agencies on Aging (P4A) and USAging, we also work to spotlight older Philadelphians and bring visibility to their needs.

This is who we have been for over 50 years. And this is just some of what we have accomplished: PCA Infographic>>

Najja R. Orr, MBA, DBA

Najja R. Orr, MBA, DBA

President & CEO

Najja R. Orr assumed the role of PCA’s President & CEO in 2020 as services to Philadelphia’s older adults had to quickly adapt during the COVID-19 pandemic. This included delivering more than 3 million meals to older Philadelphians through home-delivered and community-based meal programs. Prior to coming to PCA, Orr worked for the Bucks County Area Agency on Aging since 2002 and served as that agency’s director until 2011. In 2017, he joined PCA as the chief strategy officer, leading the agency’s planning department.

Orr has served on several boards during his tenure in the aging field and held a number of positions, including chair of the Pennsylvania Department of Aging Cultural Diversity Advisory Council and board secretary and southeast regional representative for the Pennsylvania Association of Area Agencies on Aging. Orr has also served as a member of the Bucks County Area Agency on Aging Cultural Diversity Committee and the United Way of Greater Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey Vision Council.

Orr received his doctorate from Temple University in 2022. He also holds a master’s degree in business administration from Drexel University and a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Morehouse College. Orr was recently selected as one the 2022 nonprofit power 100 honorees by City & State Pennsylvania.  In addition to being a dedicated advocate for older adults, Orr is also a dedicated husband and father of four.

Laura I. Weinbaum

Laura I. Weinbaum

Chief Operating Officer

In January 2023, Philadelphia Corporation for Aging (PCA) announced that Laura I. Weinbaum, MBA, MGA, had been selected as its new Chief Operating Officer. As an executive leader with 25 years of experience in operations, organizational development, data and quality assurance, training, fiscal management, and advocacy, Laura comes to PCA from Project HOME, another Philadelphia nonprofit, where she spent more than 20 years. There, Laura helped lead the organization to empower adults and children to break the cycle of homelessness and poverty through housing, opportunities for employment, medical care, and education.

With a strong leadership legacy in non-profit, Weinbaum also spent a few years in technology consulting in New York and redevelopment in the City of Philadelphia.

As incoming COO, Weinbaum will work closely with President and CEO Najja R. Orr, MBA, DBA and CFO Joel TeBeest to take the 50-year-old PCA to the next level of accomplishment as an Area Agency on Aging, identifying new funding streams and developing pivotal strategic partnerships — guiding PCA into new arenas that will bring about long-term growth and opportunities.

During her extensive career, Laura has received numerous accolades including being featured in Philadelphia Business Journal’s “40 Under 40” and chosen as one of “101 Next Generation Connectors” by LEADERSHIP Philadelphia.

Weinbaum also has several publications to her credit including “Estimating the Local Economic and Fiscal Impact of Project HOME” and “Saving Lives, Saving Money: Cost-Effective Solutions to Homelessness in Philadelphia.”

She holds several leadership positions in the Philadelphia community: Board Chair, Commonwealth Housing Development Corporation; Leading for Change Fellow, Drexel University LeBow College of Business; and Adjunct Fellow, University of Pennsylvania Center for Public Health Initiatives.

Weinbaum has an MBA from Quantic School of Business, Washington, DC; an MGA from University of Pennsylvania; and a BA from Columbia University in New York City.

Joel TeBeest

Joel TeBeest Headshot

Joel TeBeest

Chief Financial Officer

With more than 30 years of experience in finance and operations management and over 25 years working in social services, Joel TeBeest joined PCA as chief financial officer (CFO) in 2021.

TeBeest previously served as CFO for A-1 Limousine, Inc. since 2014. Prior to that time, TeBeest served as the finance director for New Jersey’s Department of Human Services, beginning in 2010. During his tenure, TeBeest is credited with automating the billing system for residents of state and county psychiatric hospitals, which invokes a cost sharing arrangement between the State of New Jersey and its 21 county governments.

TeBeest’s earlier positions included assistant finance director for New Jersey’s Department of Human Services and revenue systems manager for the New Jersey Division of Developmental Disabilities, where he also served as information systems business analyst and contract administration supervisor.

A Pennsylvania resident, TeBeest is a certified public accountant (CPA) in the Commonwealth. He holds a bachelor’s degree in business and accounting from The College of New Jersey.

Board of Directors

Glenn D. Bryan

Glenn D. Bryan


Louis G. Colbert

Vice Chair
Eloise N. Young

Eloise N. Young


Lynn Fields Harris

Satya B. Verma, O.D.

Satya B. Verma, O.D.

Immediate Past Chair
Louis A. Bove, Esq.

Louis A. Bove, Esq.

Sandra McNally

Sandra McNally

Paul Nathanson

Jacqueline S. Zinn, Ph.D.

Jacqueline S. Zinn, Ph.D.

John J. Whitman

Wilmarie Gonzalez

Denise Adamucci

Norma D. Thomas

Advisory Council

Sandra McNally, Chair
Carl W. Bailey
Joseph J. DiMeo Jr.
Teresa Elliott
Florence Gallagher
Nida Imperial
Frederick Lewis
David Nevison
Vera Tolbert
Linda Tyler
Heshie Zinman
You are using an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. To ensure security, performance, and full functionality, please upgrade to an up-to-date browser.